top of page
  • KM✿

Dear Wok Master,


A silhouette of a man standing in a store-kitchen with white tile walls with stainless pots and pans. The man is looking over a fiery wok, holding a sauce bottle in the right hand.

Dear Wok Master,


It’s been a little over a year and a half since I left Sydney permanently. It’s hard to believe it’s only been that much because so much of my life has changed. It feels like a lifetime ago but on April 18th, 2020 when I got a certain calendar notification on my phone, it felt exactly like it had been a year: “Say bye to wok master”


I was dumbfounded by that bizarre notification for a second. And then I was hit with a wave of memories of my favourite Chinese place. I had created that calendar event so I wouldn't miss my chance to say bye to you. When I told you I was leaving Sydney permanently, we talked about my future. You told me you’d miss me but gave me strength, and words of encouragement to not to fear change but to embrace it. And then you told me you were actually leaving to Melbourne with your wife to visit your son a week before I left Sydney. It meant I had to say bye to you earlier than I wanted. I was a little bummed because I had already planned that one of my last dinners would be from Wok Master and definitely wanted to see you. So I had set that reminder to make sure I didn't miss my chance to say goodbye in person. What a hilarious reminder to receive one year later. It’s definitely one nobody else would get.


I know you weren’t the owner of that Wok Master but to me, you are THE Wok Master. You were the one who drew and kept the customers in. That’s exactly why I got so friendly with you and why I made it a point to say a proper farewell. I always saw you having a chat to those waiting or ordering, making more than small talk as you brought food to people’s tables, remembering people’s names, saying hi to kids, and smiling as you did it all. I’m sure at your age too, it’s hard to be standing and serving customers all day but you always had a happy aura and made time to spread joy.


I started frequenting Wok Master because the food was so great there to begin with and being vegetarian back then, I was so immensely happy to get delicious, hearty dishes. Always just made, hot from the wok. It was the perfect meal after a full day working customer service for me. And then one day when I was there, you started talking to me and asking for my name. I thought it was weird at first but I told you anyway and you remembered it right off the bat. You started making conversation with me every time since then. I remember another time I ordered vegetarian spring rolls once and when you found out I was vegetarian, you immediately remembered that too. I was so grateful because I wanted to try new Chinese dishes but wasn't sure what had meat in it so you’d make sure to let me know if there was a meat-less option for whatever I wanted to try.


One thing that surprised me was that you constantly said hi and talked to me if you weren’t busy when I was just walking passed the shop. As a shy person, I was even more surprised at myself when I started greeting you first! I remember the owner giving us the 'look' when we talked sometimes. But that’s how I knew your happiness and friendship was genuine. It wasn’t about bringing in money or customers; it was just about connecting to people.


With this letter, I want you to know that though it’s been a year since we shook hands and wished each other well, I haven't forgotten you. I didn't delete that calendar reminder and I never will. Next year when it comes up again, I'll reminisce fondly.


I hope you are doing well. I hope your wife, son, and that Wok Master shop are doing well too. You're one of the reason I miss Sydney so much. You’re one of the many, many people who make me realize that my life is nothing without the people in it. We were really just two people whose lives happened to cross in the briefest and simplest way. But it has left an impact on me. It shows how easily kindness can spark a beautiful human connection so simply and quickly.


I hold your invitation back for those vegetarian spring rolls dearly and I hope to see you soon, Wok Master.


Sincerely,

A sign off reading "K From the Mountain" written in black cursive font




18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
bottom of page