top of page
  • KM✿

Dear Buried Soul,


A  brown, shriveled branch with baby green leaves covered slightly melted icicles is in focus in the foreground of a snowy landscape with several tall trees.

Dear Buried Soul,



Twenty-six years in this body

I want to return home.

Earth is where I am bound

Where I am connected


Here I am lost

Afloat, unchained.

Silent gravity,

No force to keep grounded


I have lost my way

Once so rooted, now not so

Cut and weeded, roots reparable

But stem now dead


In a new environment

A garden still blue and

Green to one thumb.

A comfortable vocation

But not near home

A temporary stay, an endless season

She remains

Afloat, roots unrepaired,

Stem surviving, yet only just


Here I remain

No rhyme with reason

For how long uncertain,

To only the universe

A thin thread sewed


The universe will provide

A home to me:

The only nourishment

For an ill-rooted stem

Belief alone but belief still

Enough to survive,

A fight to live.



Sincerely,

A sign off reading "K From the Mountain" written in black cursive font




Image by Katie Smith.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
bottom of page