top of page
  • KM✿

Dear Helpline Callers,


A black telephone with the wire connected to the word "care" in a blue message bubble on a brown wooden desk with white and green flowers surrounding it all.

Dear Helpline Callers,

I thought for a long time about whether I should write this letter or not. It seemed a little odd to. At the same time, I knew there were things I wanted to say and have you know. And I’ve decided that what I wanted to say to you was more important than my insecurities about how it might be received.

What I want to say is thank you for calling. As odd as that sounds, thank you for calling. I wish you didn’t have to. I wish you weren’t going through what you were to have to call. But you are and you called, so thank you. I’m thanking you for taking the first and hardest step of self-care. I know how extremely difficult it must’ve been to admit to yourself that you needed help, to reach out, and then to admit to someone else those very things and share your problems and arguably your most vulnerable times. It’s not easy. In fact, it’s tremendously tough. It can feel embarrassing to share your secrets, or uncomfortable to do it to a stranger, or awkward because you feel you might be the only one going through what you are, or absolutely any way else. But you did it anyway. You called and I’m so happy and thankful you did because that means you also realised your strength.

I know the fragility and the strength in being the one to call. The fragility comes from human being and to be alive. It comes from living life, being faced with problems, and admitting that you need help from others. We are fragile human beings. But the strength? The strength comes from realising that there is absolutely nothing shameful or embarrassing or wrong about that. It is unquestionably a normal thing to have problems and to need help. Human beings were not meant to live in isolation. We were not meant to navigate life on our own. We were meant to seek company, life around us, to help each other, and live with love.

Regardless of whether you realised your strength or not, you showed it by calling. And I’m so proud of you that you did. I’m so thankful you did. I hope that one day you realise your strength consciously and fully. There is equal strength in needing help from and helping others. There is undeniable strength in being alive, in being human, and in being you.

Whether you believe it or not, you are strong. And I believe in you.

Sincerely,

A sign off reading "K From the Mountain" written in black cursive font





Image by K From the Mountain.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
bottom of page