top of page
  • KM✿

Dear Authors,


A silhouette of an open book with pages flipping through with a bunch of book characters flying out. Characters include The BFG by Roald Dahl, Captain Underpants by Dav Pilkey, Dr Seuss characters, Curious George, Geronimo Stilton, Tin Tin, Arthur, and the Magic School Bus gang.

Dear Authors,

When I think about my career path, there is a specific group of people I want to thank aside from my family and friends. That group is the authors that gave me a boundless childhood. I found my love and talent for writing when I was in fourth grade and have wanted be an author since. That is all thanks to you.

I consider myself extremely lucky that I found what I wanted to be at such a young age when most people my age now are still deciding. Of course, there’s absolutely nothing wrong with being unsure and trying different directions, it’s always so important to keep looking. What I’m saying is, I’m glad that I was able to work on what I love doing as soon as I could: writing. In my late teens, I decided I wanted to use my writing to help people and better the world so I went into a journalism degree instead of English or literature. I don’t regret it. It introduced me to a new world of writing.

But this post isn’t about me; it’s about you, the authors. I owe you all so much for writing those books, telling those stories, whisking me away into those worlds, and giving me those adventures. Without you and your writing, I would’ve never known the joys of reading. The joy of meeting characters so quirky they could exist only in words, the wonders of travelling into fantastical world while not moving an inch, and the crazy idea that maybe I can create such adventures for myself too. You gave my childhood imagination, a world beyond my playground, my school friends, my family. You gave me one world after another, all of which I loved and still love, sometimes even more than the one we are in now.

Authors, you are the reason why I have this blog. You are the reason I was able to grow as a writer and person, why I stuck with writing all through these years, and the reason I want to use it for the better. For the better what? Everything and anything. For the bettering of a child’s imagination, like you did mine, for the bettering of social injustices, for the better of myself, for the better of absolutely any and all. Authors, you have inspired me beyond all the worlds ever written about and will continue to do so with every story you tell. Everything I’ve ever written and will ever write is all in debt to you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

Sincerely,

A sign off reading "K From the Mountain" written in black cursive font





Image by K From the Mountain.

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
bottom of page