top of page
  • KM✿

Dear Asparagus Lady,


Dear Reader,   Thank you for stopping by. I can’t say for sure what made you visit but I hope this letter makes you stay. You see, I sit around a lot thinking about all of the people I've come across in my life. Those who are absolute blessings and have stuck around for as long as I can remember, strangers who I share a split second to side-step on the street, customers running their errands who I happen to serve, and so many more faces and folks I can ever even begin to fathom. I sit around a lot thinking about this and it blows my mind. I am such a tiny little form of existence in a world so rich with them. And it makes me realise, how blessed I am.  How lucky am I that I get to live in a world with so many interesting characters and actually get the chance to connect with some of them? There is never a dull day because we never live the same day as anyone else. Our days, our stories, our lives,  are so individually unique to us but somehow, someway, they all happen alongside of each others'.   You see, dear Person, our lives are all connected. Our existence in this world is the one commonality we have with those who have lived, are living, and will ever live. This fascinates me to no end. My motto is:  My life is nothing without the people in it.   And so to the people in my life, whether brief encounters or lasting faces, I dedicate these letters.   I began this journey when I wrote my farewell letter to my grandma as she lay to rest. In my writing, I found her final lesson: the power of letters. Whether it’s a secret love letter, a demand for change to Congress, a time capsule to your future self, or the words you wish you had said before it was too late, the intimacy of letter writing is a rare one.  In 2016, a six-year-old boy's a letter to President Barack Obama erased away any political white noise and reminded us of the natural compassion that comes with being human, before any negativity is learned.  In 1963, Martin Luther King Jr. wrote an open letter addressed to “Fellow Clergymen” on the side of a newspaper while held prisoner. He stood for what he believed in, for what was right, and for those who were and will be affected had nobody taken action. Unfortunately, racism still exists but King’s letter slowly but surely revealed to people the power of their voices and gave them the courage to use it.   And lastly, perhaps one that is rarely acknowledged as a letter,  Anne Frank’s diary. Her story was told through her diary but what is a diary entry but a personal letter to your soul? Most of us begin it with "Dear Diary", don't we?   Letters are powerful. They have a way of bringing people and our sincere selves together. Beyond that, they have a way of reaching anyone who reads them. Share these letters, send them all around, it’s what they were written for.  We are all we have.  Sincerely,  A Letter Per Person

Dear Asparagus Lady,

I decided to write you this letter because my interaction with you made me realise that the way I present myself, particularly with the words I choose to say, may not be taken the way I intended them to be. You made me understand that my experience in choosing and saying my words is entirely different from your experience listening to them. So I want to apologise for our misunderstanding.

When you asked if you could have the asparaguses that were beside me after you paid for your groceries, I focused on the word “have”. That’s why I responded with, “Yes but you have to pay for them” to let you know that I couldn’t give them to you to have, you had to buy them. That’s all. I wasn’t implying you couldn’t pay for them nor did I think that you were homeless and I never meant to offend you in any way. I was just trying to do my job by letting you know you had to pay for the asparaguses, like any other grocery.

It didn’t occur to me that my response could be an offensive one at all until you responded to me, clearly angry, by calling me a “stupid person” and saying “Of course I’m going to pay for them. What? You think I’m stupid?” and going on about how a homeless person could be buying groceries or carrying a designer bag. I was honestly taken by surprise because I had no idea what set you off or where your words were coming from. That’s why I kept quiet and didn’t apologise then and there. I thought you were simply looking for something to be mad about and I didn’t feel any fault at the time. There was also a family with three kids right beside you so I didn’t want to say anything in case it fuelled you to say something I didn’t want the kids to hear.

Thinking back now, I realise that it was my words that set you off, even if that was not my intention. I thought about how the words I meant nothing by could’ve been taken as an insult and I realised my perception of the words are completely different from yours. Maybe you reacted sensitively because you’ve gone through tough times in your life, perhaps to do with homelessness or money problems. Perhaps it’s simply that you had already had rough day and were already on edge and what I said was the straw that broke the camel’s back. Maybe you lashed out because you were embarrassed. Maybe it’s none of these things but I realise now that it was something in your life experiences that made my words toxic to you. And I am so sorry about that.

Even more so, I am sorry I didn’t apologise then and there. I was worried about the kids but it would’ve been good for them to hear me apologise to you. I hope that your day picked up from there. And if anything, I hope you find comfort in the fact that you taught me a couple of valuable lessons hat day. So thank you.

Sincerely,

A sign off reading "K From the Mountain" written in black cursive font





Image by K From the Mountain.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
Envelope Lines_edited.jpg
bottom of page